Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


New Curriculum: Five Compulsory Subjects Required for O-Level Learners

New Curriculum: Five Compulsory Subjects Required for O-Level Learners

The Heritage-Based  New Curriculum will be implemented beginning in the second term of 2024, according to the Ministry of Primary and Secondary Education, which has announced significant modifications to the curriculum.

The Director of Communications and Advocacy, Taungana Ndoro, states that the new curriculum requires Ordinary Level students to take a maximum of eight subjects, three of which must be chosen from a list of required subjects and five of which are required. Conversely, learners at the Advanced Level are limited to a maximum of four disciplines, but at least three are needed.

The present exam classes won’t be impacted by these modifications, nevertheless. Students in Grade Seven, Form Four, and Form Six are required to stick to the outdated curriculum and evaluation procedures, as stated in Circular 4 of 2024. Until the assessment cycle is completed, they will make use of Continuous Assessment Learning Activities (CALAs).

ALSO READ:19 Citizens of Malawi Fined For Immigration Offences

As per the recently implemented Heritage-Based Education Curriculum, every student will finish one project for every learning area annually. The coursework mark that is submitted to the Zimbabwe School Examinations Council (ZIMSEC) will be influenced by these initiatives.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The five basic and required topics that students study at both the elementary and secondary levels are mathematics, English language, indigenous language and literature, combined science, and heritage studies. They will also select a minimum of three elective courses from a variety of clusters, including the humanities, sciences, languages, business, technical and vocational education, physical education, and the arts.

Learners will select a professional pathway for Forms Five and Six of the Upper Secondary School based on their interests and competencies. Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM), Visual and Performing Arts, Technical and Vocational Education and Training, Humanities, and Commercials are the five pathways that are promoted by the curriculum. Specific disciplines related to the selected career path are included in each pathway.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Catch More Updates Below


Copyright © 2023 ZiMetro News